Jumpstart Your IT Career: Which Certification is Right for You?


The IT sector is one of the most diverse fields to explore a career. But first, you need to acquire a certification to pursue a career in a particular specialization. There are different kinds to choose from depending on your career plans. Here are several options to consider:

CompTIA A+ 

CompTIA A+ is an entry-level certification that is ideal for someone looking to begin a career in the IT sector. Certified CompTIA A+ technicians oversee the maintenance of computer systems, operating systems, printers, laptops, and mobile devices. You are required to pass two exams, one multiple choice and one performance-based. CompTIA A+ practice tests and reviewers can help you ace these exams. Common job titles for people with this certification include but are not limited to being a desktop support technician, help desk technician, and in-home support specialist.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA)

The Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) is a certification developed by Microsoft to test and validate product knowledge and technical skills of entry-level IT professionals. The company recommends to take this if you have at least one year of experience working with a Microsoft product or in a Microsoft environment. The MCSA will validate the knowledge and skills the test taker has acquired in their first year of work experience. There’s a variety of MCSA certifications for you to choose from, each with three exams to pass before getting certified. Among these exams and certifications include BI reporting, Microsoft Dynamics 365 for operations, SQL 2016 BI development, and Windows Server 2012.

Linux Professional Institute Certification 1 (LPIC-1)

LPIC-1 is the first certification in LPI’s multi-level Linux professional certification program. This certification validates the candidate’s ability to perform all sorts of maintenance tasks on their respective command line. It also tests their capacity to configure basic networking and install and configure a computer running Linux. LPIC-1 is designed to authenticate the test taker’s proficiency in real-world system administration. Potential roles for this certification include being a development operations engineer, Linux system administrator, and information technology director.

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

CCNA is an entry-level certification that verifies the candidate’s ability to install, configure, and operate enterprise-level routers and switches. You can choose between specializing in wireless, security, or voice networking. To get the certification, you need to pass a 90-minute written exam. Common job titles include system administrator, network administrator, and network engineer.

Apple Technician Training (ATT)

The ATT integrates Mac users into the traditional IT environment based on Windows. Apple offers training courses but study materials may be downloaded for free on the Apple training website. Certification exams may be taken at one of their Apple Authorized Training Provider (AATP) locations or online in the comfort of your home. This training will allow you to become either an Apple Certified Mac Technician (ACMT) or an Apple Certified iOS Technician (ACiT).

There are endless career opportunities for you to explore and get certified for. These are just a few of the many certifications to check out when diving into the IT sector.

The Author


Scroll to Top